Famous complaints from Malaysians

Washington Post Staff Writer

By Kim Hart
Wednesday, July 5

Disgruntled customers used to have little recourse against poor service and broken promises.

But as angry clients increasingly turn to the Internet to settle scores, companies, independent retailers and everyday wrongdoers are learning that consumers can have the last word — and often the last laugh. The Web has turned into a place where shame and humiliation are sometimes the strongest weapons in fighting scams and unfairness.

AOL got burned last week, for example, when an exasperated customer recorded and broadcast online a service representative’s emphatic reluctance to cancel his service. Comcast Corp. fired a technician after a videotape surfaced purporting to show him asleep on a customer’s couch.

The clip became popular on Web sites such as amateur video site YouTube. People are also using the Internet to retaliate against common thieves and discourtesies. A popular blog on Friday posted voice mails from a man demanding that his date pay him back for half the dinner check after the romance fizzled.

In June, a New York man posted pictures online of a girl who allegedly refused to return his friend’s T-Mobile Sidekick that had been taken from a taxicab. The Web site became popular among other victims of cellphone theft, and it led to the girl’s arrest. And there also was the South Korean woman who was humiliated last year when she didn’t clean up the mess her dog left in the subway after a fellow train rider posted a photo of the incident on a popular Web site.

越来越多顾客上网 惩罚服务不好商家

(华盛顿讯)越来越多的顾客懂得利用互联网,惩戒那些服务水平差的商家和公司。

《华盛顿邮报》报道,他们把不愉快的经历录制下来,再将这些影像送上网广为流传,让这些公司和它们的职员丢脸。另一些人把别人缺德的行为拍下来,再利用互联网公布这些丑行。

去年,有人因看不惯一名韩国妇女,任由宠物狗在地铁列车上大小便,而将对方的丑陋行为拍摄下来,张贴在一著名网站上。这名韩国妇女顿时”名声大噪”,成为众人羞辱的对象。

华盛顿消费者组织数码民主中心执行主任切斯特说:”毫无疑问的,公开羞辱一个人,不论对方是政治人物或是一间公司,绝对是引起对方注意,要他们改变行为的最好方法。”

美利坚大学传播系助理教授普利西说,人们通过博客(blog,个人网上日记)或媒体揭露他人丑行所引起的广大回响,使许多公司意识到,这种直接让他人在广大受众面前蒙羞的作法,将使一家公司的名声受到严重的伤害。

普利西说:”在这个科技时代,我们必须更加注意对待客户的方式,因为我们不知道他们接下来会有什么行动。现在,万事都可公开讨论。”

事实上,互联网被消费者当成投诉平台的作法已经不是什么新鲜事。现在,几乎所有的大商家都会有至少一个为消费者设立的投诉网页。近来,网上也冒起了许多让人们交换信息及情报的多用途网站。

消费者行动发言人里杜特说:”我认为互联网的固有性质,引发了每个人的投诉本能。对存心诈骗的人进行报复,将对方羞辱一番可说是一种合理的反应。”

Complaint No : HNH0807009X
Business Name : unknown

I tan choon seng who stay at jelutong palace would like to complaint about my neighbor who make the public walkway as his staying place .location jelutong palace block 5 -15-01 .somemore blocking my front door view area ,i feel very uncountable on the way they install the front door steel rack .hope this complain will help me solve my problem .Thanks

[ My Desire Outcome ] :
I would like to they reinstall the front door steel rack further inside to their places and not infront of my front door . hopefully this complant will help me .many thanks.

I WANT TO COMPLAINT FOR WATER LEAKAGE

我要投訴
無良發展商与屋主狼狽為奸

本人吳艾霖女士,住在63-03-01 Lorong Batu Nilam 1E, Bandar Bukit Tinggi, 41200 Klang, Selangor 〔四樓〕。
此處的發展商是〔Labur Bina Sdn. Bhd.〕及維修管理公司為〔Labur Bina Management Sdn. Bhd.〕都是WCT集團旗下的子公司。此發展商所建造的房屋諸多問題。
我們所居住的這棟樓房,偷工減料,牆壁裂痕,四處漏水。
更可悲的是我正樓下三樓〔63-02-1〕無情的屋主周郭興先生〔Mr. Chew Koh Heng〕為了得到更高的收入,他將所購買的兩個單位,非法改裝成四個單位。在其裝修期間,聘請外勞,大力的折牆鉆壁,在這樣嚴重的沖擊之下,使這整棟建筑的裂痕更加惡化,更造成排水系統堵塞。
更不幸的是在他們大力敲擊及鑽壁后,意外的造成我的水管破裂漏水。
這件事情變的更加複雜与嚴重化是當Labur Bina Management Sdn. Bhd.將按裝水喉的牆壁穿個大洞以檢驗哪一個單位的水管漏水。這使漏水流的更急更嚴重。如果我的單位一開水,不到一小時,整座摟房到處淹水和積水,地上非常的滑,如積水太多將會流入三摟的其中一間租戶里,使他們寢食不安。整座的居民冤聲四起。周郭興先生〔Mr. Chew Koh Heng〕為了平息大眾的怒火,巴結了WCT的兩位經理張先生〔Mr. Chang Kim Fah〕与李先生逼我做代罪羔羊,毫無理由的叫我出錢修理以及讓他們所聘請的水喉匠進入我的單位鑽一個地洞修理,破坏我的地磚、天花板及住家安宁。我當然不同意他們的做法。
為了維護我自己,我詢問了各方面專業人士的意見,他們所給於的提議如下:
〔一〕水管是不容易破裂,除非經過大力敲擊、鑽到或釘到。
〔二〕舊水管不适合再用、最好是重新做出一條外在的新水管道。

在漏水事件中,我在16/5/2008〔星期五〕收到Labur Bina Management Sdn. Bhd. (日期:10/5/2008)的信,它給我三天的通知做修補,不然他們會叫人進入我的地方做修理、而費用由我承擔。當天,我馬上回信給它講明水管破裂不是我造成的,不應該由我來負責。
在26/5/2008〔星期一〕大約早上十點半,WCT集團的經理,李先生到來查看我家及樓下三樓漏水處。在樓下房間漏水處,李先生口頭答應要承擔水喉修理費,在埸的還包括V.Gurunathan 先生(63-01-02的屋主)和黃先生(63-01-01的屋主),但沒有下文。

為了安全起見,我在2/6/2008寄出第二張信叫李先生簽收我所要求的絛件如下:
〔一〕WCT 的李先生所答應負責的修理費用八百令吉(RM800.00);
〔二〕我將自已聘用水喉匠,建立一絛新的外在水管道從樓下底層直上我家單位之屋頂連系我家的水槽。
〔三〕我將付給剩餘超過八百令吉的費用,包括租用一輛天梯(Skylift)。

但是李先生出爾反爾,之前的承諾已經付之一炬。

在沒有辦法的情況下,我只有邀請所有的住戶做集体簽名投訢,但WCT的經理張先生也是一意孤行。

在這漏水事件中,正正受害者是我們,因為我們全家要忍受缺水用的問題与煩惱,更要承擔更高的水費單。

在投訢無效的地步,我只好另尋投訢管道。

最后,我希望這無情的屋主周先生及發展商能按照我的意願,早日出錢修理。

謝謝!

■ GML Communication Sdn Bhd AKA Technotrack Sdn Bhd

Complaint No : DSL0807007X
Business Name : GML Communication Sdn Bhd AKA Technotrack Sdn Bhd

They charged me RM 2286.60 using a merchant name called Technotrack Sdn Bhd on 11 Nov 2006 using my credit card. According to the direct selling rules, it has a 14 days of cooling off period. www.gml2u.com.

I asked for the refund on the day itself and Juliana Saw, the lady who invited me has promised that she will ask Victor Tee, the agent to give me back the money. I was very happy when I heard that. I was busy with my work as an investigator and I really like my work very much. I am waiting for the refund to pay the credit card. I told her that I do not want the services or any business deal any more because I do not have the money to pay for it. I am not interested to sell anything for them. I wanted the money back for the credit card which they have charged.

They did not keep their promised to pay me back the full amount on time. They gave me back a cheque from Public Bank for RM 300 only on 21st June 2008. As a result of I trusted her so much, I paid the credit card with my money first since I have been giving tuition and doing freelance programming. I send the email and I called and I cried for many times because I am very sad as a result of I trusted the Juliana Saw so much because she was the one who told me a lot about his experience with irresponsible men and their characteristics. She asked me to choose the right man and she helped me to filter out all the bad men. Thank you to her for sharing to me her experience with men.

But, I am very sad as a result of she did not keep her promise to give me back the money in full.

Hereby, I would like to express my concern of getting back the refund within the 14-day cooling off period.

[ My Desire Outcome ] :
Get the money back for RM 2220.00 + 3% credit card charges. I have received partial refund, i.e. RM 300.00 and I found it should be more. Thank you.

PROTON SAVVY 1.2AMT

Business Name : Pronton Edar Sdn Bhd

We are writing to notify you of the continuing problems we have had with our newly purchased vehicle [Proton Savvy 1.2 AMT] and to request that the company repurchase or replace the vehicle. We purchased the vehicle from Proton Edar Mutiara Damansara on May 10, 2008. We received the new vehicle only on June 3, 2008 and on the very next day, which is June 4, we began having trouble with the automatic transmission. The vehicle was in complete stall on the road and it was then taken back to Proton Edar Service Centre in Mutiara Damansara on the same day.

We got back the vehicle only on June 21, after receiving both verbal (by Roslan bin Mohamad, Senior Operation Manager of Mutiara Damansara Branch) and written confirmation and assurance (by Proton i.care Centre) that the concern highlighted would not re-occurred. Unfortunately, on June 25th evening around 9.30 p.m., the automatic transmission error illuminated and appeared again. The vehicle has to be restarted in order to move. We then notified Mr Roslan and Mr Devan immediately through SMS. On June 26th evening the transmission error signal again and the vehicle was in complete stall again. Therefore we have no choice but to take the vehicle back to the service centre on 27th June morning. How can a brand-new vehicle broke down again and again, when we were told that the car is safe to drive after necessary rectification and thorough test drive by your Proton Specialist. This is really putting my life and my family’s life in stake!! To date, the service centre has been unable to completely solve the problem. Thus far, our car has been out of service for more than 20 days.

[ My Desire Outcome ] :
This problem substantially impairs both the use and value of our car. We feel it is unreasonable for a car of this price to have a major fault so soon after purchase. Clearly this cannot continue. To resolve the problem, we request that the company repurchase or replace our vehicle, together with necessary compensations for the hassle that both of us have gone through so far.

TMNet S***myx

My complaint? Last month I made an CIMBClicks online payment (1st time ever) for my Streamyx 1MB bill. Thinking that the transaction had been taken care of, my mind was at ease. That is, until I received the latest bill yesterday. Lo and behold, the bill I paid for now showed up as an outstanding payment!

So I paid a visit to the local TMNet outlet, produced the new bill and receipt from the online payment and explained the issue. The reception staff simply told me that the payment have not been synchronised with my telephone bill. The Streamyx bill should be paid using the telephone bill account number if I wanted to do it online. Excuse me? Wouldn’t that confuse any average schmoe? Not content with that, she also told me that synchronisation will take weeks to process.

Fazed, I sought advice from the staff at the payment counter instead. The guy told me that it’s usual to take 4 weeks for online payments to be credited from banks to service providers. I immediately lashed out “Doesn’t that defeat the whole purpose of having online banking services in the first place?”.

Unbelievable. I thought they already had this sorted out beforehand? Now I had to look at an outstanding payment notice when it had already been paid for!

Online payments that take more than a month to process? I mean, come on, who do they think they’re fooling? I suppose TMNet should send out their reps out of their caves and see if the Malaysian public is really that backward. Or maybe our online services are really that bad?

Something had to be done to rectify online transaction inefficiency. It’s sad to think that with the infrastructure we have now, our level of services (both interpersonal and online) is still below par.

Oh, and have I mentioned that I’m still getting 512Kbps speed when I’ve already upgraded to 1MBps? Could this mess have been caused by a cock-up at CIMBClicks instead?

[ My Desire Outcome ] :
That this do not happen again. Not to me, not to you, not to anyone!

I was dissapointed with the services provided by Rapid KL

Hi all ,
Today, which is the 5th of July, 2008, I was dissapointed with the services provided by Rapid KL, especially the driver. This story starts in the evening when I take a busride home.

First I took the bus and the driver checked the ticket I bought this morning. The ticket teared a little but all the important informations still can be seen . When the driver saw the ticket, he was very angry and scolded me with a loud voice. After that the driver throw my ticket out to the window and told me buy a new ticket. That time i felt so angry because the driver was so rude but I couldn’t do anything about it. After that, I went to buy a new ticket but when I open my wallet, I saw that I just had a RM 50 note. I asked the driver if I could get my change back. But the driver spoke rudely to me and said something which I could not understand, but I heard he say that he will return the RM 48 to me at the end of the trip. When I went out from the bus, I went to take my change back but the driver say cannot take the money at here and that I must go to the Rapid KL’s office to take it back. I ask a few questions but the driver stood up and declare a fight with me. I am just a 15 year old kid, what can I do? So, I just kept quiet and went out the bus.

Complaint against Company Secretary

My sister used to set up a private limited company on 2005. After registration of the company done she decided to end the business due to poor performance. She appointed a company secretary to do the process for her. She was given to understand from the company secretary that there is a buyer of her company. She agreed to sell. But then later she was informed that the buyer declines to buy and she advised the company secretary to end the company for her.

She thought that everything has been done until she received compound from Company Commission Malaysia. She went to see the company secretary and they told her they have forgot to do the process for her. They even blame my sister for forget to remind them ( Do we owe the duty to remind the company secretary ?)

Question :-

(i) Can we claim the compound from company secretarty?
(ii) Do we need to remind the company secretary to do their work?
(iii)The company secretary advised us to write to CCM and inform them that it is our mistake that we forgot to close the company. However it is not our mistake, it is the company secretary’s mistake. Should we follow his advise?
(iv) the Company secretary declines to pay us full for settlement. They will only pay half for the compound. Do we have the right to claim full settlement?

Maxis abuse its power to force unfair payment and cause inconvinience to consumer

I was approached by Maxis sale staff in a shopping mall to sign up its broadband service, they guarantee me I can try for 7 days. If not satisfy, it can be returned with full refund. Soon I found its broadband doesn’t work and its modem was not working properly. On the 3rd day I called back the sale guy to request the full refund he promised. He said he will work on it. After a couple of days, I called Maxis broadband line for the same issues but no one was answering the phone for more than 3 times I tried. Finally I called 123 to ask for the status of my refund. 123 comforted me that it will be taken care off. After a couple of months, I received unexpected calls about outstanding amount. After I repeat the whole stories, they asked me to send the faulty modem to Selayang Maxis. At that place, I was issued a document with the ‘waiver’ chop. So I thought it was finally ended. Recently for more than 1 week Maxis line has been malfunction i the whole Sabah so I have no choice but to apply a Digi line but they told me I have problems with Maxis so I cannot open a line with Digi. I called Maxis and found out that there is still issues with this broadband account which I paid RM 100 which is not yet refunded, never really get to use the service and with a faulty modem all along, is still having outstanding amount and bad mark me to get service from other telco.

With the above experience, I am convince that;
1) maxis sales is CHEATING people into its service
2) maxis purposely misled, mis-guide consumer complaints and ignored them
3) maxis purposely do all above so that all consumers are stuck with them and cannot switch to other telcos.
4) maxis is abusing its market share to ‘force’ consumer paying what was not appropriate, not used, and never a fair trade at the first place.

[ My Desire Outcome ] :
Here in I demand for my case;
1) to release all my liability on above broadband issues
2) to refund my other voice line which I have been using for more than 8 years for all the poor services especially recent downtime more than 1 week in sabah
3) refund my expenses incurred getting alternative supports and yet Maxis is blocking me doing that without properly informing me on the status.

Neighbor blocking the walkway at public walkway.

I tan choon seng who stay at jelutong palace would like to complaint about my neighbor who make the public walkway as his staying place .location jelutong palace block 5 -15-01 .somemore blocking my front door view area ,i feel very uncountable on the way they install the front door steel rack .hope this complain will help me solve my problem .Thanks

[ My Desire Outcome ] :
I would like to they reinstall the front door steel rack further inside to their places and not infront of my front door . hopefully this complant will help me .many thanks.

My boyfriend has been conned by Solar Vision Network

THIS SO CALLED JOB AGENCY HAS CHEATED MY BOYFRIEND RM160 FOR APPLYING A TYPIST JOB..THEY CLAIMED THAT THEY WILL BE ABLE TO PROVIDE A JOB FOR HIM BUT I DON’T THINK THEY WILL BE ABLE TO DO THAT..MY BOYFRIEND APPLIED FOR THIS JOB ON 27 FEB 2007 AND ON 28 FEB 2007 THEY CALLED HIM SAYING THAT IF THE TRAVEL AGENCY DOES NOT CALL HIM BEFORE 7 MARCH 2007, THEY WILL CALL HIM.. NOW WE ARE WAITING TO SEE IF THE COMPANY PEOPLE DOES CALL HIM BY THAT TIME.. I AM FURIOUS THAT THESE COMPANIES ARE EVERYWHERE AROUND US BUT THERE IS LIKE NOTHING WE CAN DO TO STOP IT.. IS THERE REALLY NO ONE OUT THERE WHO CAN HELP TO CLAIM BACK OUR LOSS??
SO MANY OF US HAVE BEEN CHEATED s****dLY AND THERE THEY ARE STILL CONNING AROUND.. THERE WILL BE EVEN MORE VICTIMS DAY BY DAY.. DO WE WANT THIS HAPPEN?? LET’S DO SOMETHING ABOUT THAT.. I CAN’T STAND TO SEE THESE CON COMPANY CHEATING AROUND.. ONE TIME IS ENOUGH AND WE MUST SHOW THEM WE ARE NOT TOLERATING ANYMORE.. SHOW THEM WE CAN DO SOMETHING TO FIGHT THEM..

WAN FOONG WELDING WORKS SDN. BHD

My car met accident and as ussual I did send to workshop. I send to this workshop for insurance claim. Now I find the paint on the bumper and bonet peeling off. When I met the workshop owner Ah Chai (019-726532) he just tell me 3 month warranty and tell that “You can do whatever you want and you can’t do anything”. He really make angry. I think he is crazy. It only 5 months before the paint to start peel off. Theis guy really got no respect for others. I hope anyone who met this guy or his workshop think twice before you send your car there. The workshop addres No. 468 & 469, Jln Bunga Seroja, Tmn Aman, 81400 Senai, Johor. Tel:07-5996930. Email: [email protected] So if you met accident next time just send your car to your manufacturer to repair, it will take longer time but the result will be better.

[ My Desire Outcome ] :
Hope insurance company will choose better workshop before make them authorised repair center. Got refund to repair my car.